The Butcher's Voice


The Butcher's Voice

  1. Sailors
  2. Birds That Don’t Fly
  3. Cherished Muscle
  4. The Butcher’s Voice
  5. Man With a Pussy
  6. Dreams of a Tomato Can
  7. Dame Binned Cow
  8. The Crush
  9. Melancolonica
  10. The Nail That Sticks Out Gets Pounded
  11. The Fairer Sex

Edition of 300 180g black vinyl, reverse-board printed sleeve with spine, black paper inner-bag and printed insert. Comes with digital download code.

Add To Cart

Released 20 February 2013
Available digitally via Bandcamp

The second album to be released under his married name, The Butcher’s Voice is a collection of eleven lyrically provocative and spellbinding songs, perfectly showcasing the haunting purity of Warwick’s voice, hushed musical delivery, and his dark tongue-in-cheek humour.

Lyrically, there is a reoccurring theme of gender identity punctuating almost every track on ‘The Butcher’s Voice’ – in this respect it could almost be described as a concept album. Fitting then that female-to-male transsexual porn star Buck Angel should feature on the albums cover; to the casual eye, the antithesis of a hyper masculine male – muscle-bound, shaved head, moustached, tattooed – but, as those aware of his work will know, Buck subverts such simplistic notions of gender identity.

Densely layered and rich, playful and dark, The Butcher’s Voice is a collection of 11 elegant compositions; a heady mix of bittersweet lost-love songs and Warwick’s darkly comic, twisted and lewd lyrical wit.

Produced by Aidan O’Brien and Stuart Warwick.
Mixed and mastered by Joe Rubel.
Artwork by Stuart Warwick.