Lab Coast


Lab Coast

from 8.00
  1. For Now
  2. Really Realize
  3. Bored Again
  4. As Usual
  5. Away From Here
  6. Helen Bach
  7. Better Than Me
  8. Recognize I’m Wrong
  9. Remember The Moon Jr
  10. The Pointe of It All
  11. Guessing Anyhow
  12. Dislocated
  13. Walking On Ayr
  14. Winter Balls
  15. Back To Your Future
  16. I Saw You

VINYL: Edition of 500. 180g vinyl. Reverse-board printed sleeve with spine and printed inner-sleeve. Comes with digital download code. 

CD: Edition of 500, reverse-board printed gatefold digifile packaging.


Released 12 May 2017
Available digitally via Bandcamp

Since 2008, Lab Coast has been delivering hazy bursts of hook-laden guitar pop via a string of critically acclaimed, award-winning albums, EPs, and singles. From their basement studio in Calgary, Alberta, the song writing team of singer David Laing & multi-instrumentalist Chris Dadge (Chad VanGaalen, Bug Incision, Samantha Savage Smith) carve out detailed analogue productions; these recordings draw from the wealth of instruments that friends leave at the Lab Coast practice space, and the ever-evolving recording techniques that they've been honing since day one. Their home-brewed recordings sit in the tradition of DIY-recorders such as Strapping Fieldhands, early Guided By Voices, and R. Stevie Moore, while the songs themselves recall the likes of Teenage Fanclub, Tom Petty, and The La's.

Onstage, these richly textured pieces are ably brought to life by Sammie Smith (aka Samantha Savage Smith), Henry Hsieh (Cold Water, Crack Cloud), and Darrell Hartsook (Prenup, Sissys).

Lab Coast is a collection of songs cherry-picked from the band’s extensive back catalogue by Faux Discx overseer Dan Reeves and the band themselves, compiled in to one succinct album. It acts as an introduction to a highly prolific band and as a showcase for their refined ability to consistently knock clever, catchy pop songs out of the park.